Daily Meds 8 – Day 31

Creative Word: Truth

Truth is something very important to me, matters involving truth are often so elaborate and confusing that truth can sway back and forth between two sides of a matter as new information comes to light and discards old evidence or further informs the situation.

I try to find what is true in my own mind. I dig as deep as I can to try and get past the safety nets that everyone’s mind sets up. Obviously I don’t know how far I can get with this, but I try to engage with every fear or insecurity I have and question it. I’m about an hour away from going to a formal dance thing that I’m dreading and I’m  taking some time to consider why I hate these events. The route of it seems to be fear and I’m trying to find a way to enjoy myself without ruining my girlfriends night.

Creative Experiment: Take a shower

I had to take care of a lot of things today and am relieved to be almost finished with all of them, but they are still buzzing in my mind right now, even during both showers. This creative experiment is coming up at the peak of my busy period right now and I don’t have the clear mind to make this one work.

I can comment on incorporating my own relaxed feeling into my work. My approach to working with everyone is to keep them relaxed and do the work that they are effortlessly capable of doing already. I try to play to the strengths of the people I am writing for and allow them time to bask in the music they are creating (not to sound conceded, I just mean if they also enjoy making music whenever they can).

Daily Dose: Envy

This is something I am getting a better handle on. My jealousy has pushed me to understand my ‘competition’ and figure out what I envy. I have never drawn up a list but I have slowly tried to understand the feelings I’ve had about these other musicians. Every once in a while my mood will swing from my generally positive attitude into this competitive mindset. The thing I notice is that the music sounds so different from anything I could think of. It sounds almost entirely brand new and inspires feelings in me that I don’t imagine my own music does for other people. I don’t know how to handle this particularly feeling because what I envy is intangible. I can only refer to works that I am particularly proud of and hope that it is some kind of indication that I am in the process of making music that can compare to some other great musicians/composers.

Daily Act: I am unique

I am feeling quite burdened with the work that I have been doing lately, but I realize that it is because I am unique that I am lucky enough to be working as much as I am. Busyness is a good sign and indicates that my uniqueness is somehow appreciated.

Leave a comment